Pennsylvania Marijuana Policy
When I think of Pennsylvania marijuana, I always think of the philly blunt. Do people in Philadelphia actually smoke philly blunts? Hopefully readers in Pennsylvania will comment below. As far as marijuana laws go in Pennsylvania, they are pretty typical of East Coast states. Much harsher than West Coast states where I live, which isn't surprising considering it's the state a guy like Rick Santorum was elected in. Below are the current marijuana laws in Pennsylvania, courtesy of Pennsylvania NORML:
Decriminalized? — No.
Possession of 30 grams or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Possession of more than 30 grams is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine.
There is possible probation for the first possession offense. Any second or subsequent convictions can double the penalties.
The distribution or cultivation of 30 grams or less for no compensation is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Distribution of less than 1,000lbs is a felony, punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a $5,000 to $25,000 fine. If there was a prior drug conviction, the offender gets the max in both categories.
Distribution of more than 1,000lbs is a felony, punishable by 10 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
Distribution of a minor by a seller over the age of 21 is a felony, resulting in double the penalty in each category (determined by the amount sold).
There is a minimum of 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine (double if after first offense) for possession of 2 to 10lbs or 10 to 21 plants.
There is a minimum of 3 years in prison and a $15,000 fine (4years, $30,000 after first offense) for possession of 10 to 50lbs or 21 to 51 plants.
There is possible probation for the first offense of cultivation or distribution, to be determined by the judge.
Possession or sale of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Selling paraphernalia to a minor is a felony, punishable by 2 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
There is possible probation for the first offense, and double the penalties for subsequent offenses.
In any case where there is profit form a criminal marijuana enterprise, the judge is authorized to increase the fines beyond the maximum to exhaust the proceeds of the crime.
Delivery of marijuana within 1,000ft of a school or within 250ft of a playground is punishable by 2-4 years in prison.
The state allows conditional release or diversion for first prosecutions. After completing the probation, the offender’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
Medical Program? — No.
Want to bring marijuana reform to Pennsylvania? Below are some good places to start, via our Pennsylvania activism page: