Marijuana Policy In Utah

Author:
Updated:
Original:
utah marijuana

Utah Marijuana Policy

Utah is one of the most conservative states in the nation, and it shows in Utah's marijuana laws. There are not a lot of people fighting for marijuana reform in Utah, and even some that are fighting are a bit confused. We once tried to highlight a group in Utah that was working for marijuana reform, just to have them demand that we take down the article because they didn't give us permission to talk about them. With that type of attitude, it will be a long time before marijuana reform is realized! Below are Utah's current marijuana laws, courtesy of Utah NORML:

Decriminalized? --- No.

Possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Possession of 1 oz to 1 lb is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

Possession of 1 to 100 lbs is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Possession of more than 100 lbs is a felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating any amount is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating in the presence of a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school or other specified area is a felony, increasing the penalties in both categories (up to the judge).

Possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Distributing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine. Distributing paraphernalia to a minor is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Any conviction results in a 6 month driving privilege suspension.

Medical Program? --- No.

Want to reform marijuana laws in Utah? Below are some good places to get started, via our Utah activism page:

Utah TeaPot Party

4557 S Sunstone Rd

Taylorsville Utah

801-793---0114

utahteapotparty@hotmail.com

http://www.facebook.com/UtahTeaPotParty

Related