What Is The 'International Association For Cannabinoid Medicines'?


International Association For Cannabinoid Medicines

The International Association for Cannbinoid Medicines (IACM) was founded in March 2000. The aim of the association is to advance knowledge on cannabis, cannabinoids, the endocannabinoid system, and related topics especially with regard to their therapeutic potential. The mission is achieved in particular through the following actions:

  • Support for research into cannabis products and the endocannabinoid system;
  • Promotion of exchange of information between researchers, health care practitioners, patients and the public;
  • Preparation and dissemination of reliable information on the pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutic potential of cannabis and modulators of the endocannabinoid system;
  • Monitoring and documentation of national and international developments with respect to cannabinoid therapeutics;
  • Co-operation with other organisations and associations sharing the mission and goals of the IACM

The IACM declares that it is the right of doctors to be able to discuss the medicinal use of cannabis with their patients.


There are regular and associate members. Regular members elect the board of directors consisting of up to ten members and decide on the guidelines of the association. Associate members elect up to two patient representatives The patient representatives may participate with equal rights in the meetings of the Board of Directors. The complete statutory articles of the IACM can be downloaded here as a pdf file.


Members receive the newsletter of IACM (IACM-News). The IACM Bulletin is published in several languages on the internet. Free subscription with the online-form.

Members of the board of directors are:

William Notcutt, UK, 1st Chariman
Arno Hazekamp, The Netherlands, 2nd Chairman
Franjo Grotenhermen, Germany, Executive Director
Kirsten Müller-Vahl, Germany
Roger Pertwee, UK
Ethan Russo, USA
Rudolf Brenneisen, Switzerland
Daniela Parolaro, Italy
Mark Ware, Canada
Manuel Guzman, Spain

Patient Representatives

Michael Krawitz, USA
Alison Myrden, Canada
Sarah Martin, UK

Former Chairmen of the IACM

Franjo Grotenhermen (2000-2003)
Raphael Mechoulam (2003-2005)
Roger Pertwee (2005-2007)
Kirsten Müller-Vahl (2007-2009)
Ethan Russo (2009-2011)