March 22, 2012

Marijuana Policy In West Virginia

March 22, 2012
West Virginia Legislature Approves Medical Marijuana Bill

west virginia medical marijuanaWest Virginia Marijuana Policy

If you grow marijuana in West Virginia, beware, you could get quite a bit of jail time and a hefty fine if you are caught. Below are the current marijuana laws for West Virginia, courtesy of West Virginia NORML:

Decriminalized? — No.

Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor, punishable by 3-6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Of course, possession of any amount can be construed as intent to distribute by any officer if they suspect such activity.

Possession of less than 15 grams results in an automatic discharge, and the misdemeanor is dropped from the offender’s record upon completion of time and fine.

Distributing or cultivating any amount is a felony, punishable by 1-5 years in jail and a $15,000 fine.

Distributing to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school is a felony, punishable by a mandatory sentence of at least 2 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.

Transporting any amount into the state with the intent to distribute is a felony, punishable by 1-5 years in jail and a $15,000 fine.

Possession or distribution of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months to 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine. Subsequent offenses double the penalties in both categories.

Medical Program? — No.

Want to change marijuana laws in West Virginia? Below are some great places to get started, via our West Virginia activism page:

West Virginia Marijuana Policy Project

West Virginia Americans for Safe Access

West Virginia NORML Chapters

West Virginia Students for Sensible Drug Policy


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Recent & Related Posts
Recent & Related Posts