April 8, 2016

Michigan NORML Gives Awards To Irwin, Komorn, And Others

April 8, 2016
Michigan Norml

Michigan NormlMichigan’s NORML chapter awarded some of the state’s most prominent and outspoken advocates for marijuana law reform during the organization’s Quarterly Meeting held on April 1.

MINORML issues these awards annually, and some are named for activists who have passed away.

Legislator of the Year Award went to Rep. Jeff Irwin (D-Ann Arbor). Rep. Irwin has advocated on behalf on sensible policies and has authored bills on forfeiture reform and marijuana law reform. The Renee Emery Wolfe Activist Award was given to Kevin McCaffery, a Board member of the MILegalize group and a steadfast ally in legalizing cannabis.

A new award, the Gaitwood Galbraith Attorney of the Year Award, was given to criminal defense attorney Michael Komorn. In addition to numerous courtroom victories, Komorn Law uncovered a scandal with scientific reporting of cannabis evidence by the Michigan State Police Crime Lab. Also new: the John Dewitte Evans Veterans Award, given for the very first time to Dakota Serna. Serna has traveled the country advocating for veterans and the use of medical marijuana.

The difficulties of starting a chapter in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula have seemingly been overcome by a group of diehards called the Marquette Work Group, and they were awarded the Gregory Scott Piasecki Work-Group/Chapter Award.

Activist and all-around great guy, Archie Kiel, was given the 420 Award. Outstanding Achievement Awards were given to MILegalize Chair Jeff Hank, Robin Puckett of Jackson NORML, and rising star Colin MacDougall.

The meeting was held at the Eagles Club in Ypsilanti on the afternoon before the Hash Bash and Monroe Street Fairs. Approx. 100 people attended the meeting, where the NORML chapter announces finances and allows anyone to address the Board with suggestions, praise or grievances. An auction held afterward featured a signed Detroit Tigers baseball, a magazine autographed by Tommy Chong, posters and clothing and artwork.

The big winner of the evening was Tom Gillies. A member of the Deaf Power Cannabis group, he won the ultimate High Times Medical Cannabis Cup prize package. Tom and a guest will be given VIP passes and a two-night stay at an area hotel during the annual Cup event in Clio on June 11 and 12. Michigan NORML provided a sign language interpreter for the meeting.

MINORML’s entire release is reproduced below.

The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws​
P.O. Box 2293 ~ Kalamazoo, MI 49003

Michigan NORML would like to take this opportunity to thank all the award winners for their outstanding service to the cannabis community in 2015!

We would also like to thank everyone who contributed or made extraordinary contributions to cannabis reform who were not recognized! We could have given out a thousand awards this year because our community is very active and so many individuals have demonstrated dedication to this cause. We thank all of you’s and we hope that next year, one of our awards will have your name on it!

Legislator of the Year
Rep. Jeff Irwin
Gaitwood Galbraith Attorney of the Year Award
Michael Komorn
Gregory Scott Piasecki Work-Group/Chapter Award
Marquette Work Group
Renee Emery Wolfe Activist Award
Kevin McCaffery
John Dewitte Evans Veterans Award
Dakota Serna
420 Award
Archie Kiel
Outstanding Achievement Awards
Jeff Hank
Robin Puckett
Colin MacDougall
The Michigan NORML Board of Directors
Executive Director Matthew Abel
Assistant Executive Director Steven Sharpe
Treasurer Annette Crocker
Secretary Rick Thompson
Chapter Director Trena Moss
Medical Director Dr. David Crocker
Promotions Director Adam L. Brook
Membership Director Brad Forrester
Outreach Director Josef White


Recent & Related Posts
Recent & Related Posts