October 30, 2016

Susan Sarandon Endorses Arizona’s Prop 205 with Phone Messages

October 30, 2016
Susan Sarandan supports prop 205

Oscar-winning actress Susan Sarandon officially stated she endorses Prop 205 in Arizona to legalize cannabis for those 21 and older, the Campaign to Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol announced recently.

In addition to Sarandon’s endorsement, the campaign is sending out a message from her to the phones of thousands of voters in the state. The message encourages them to “vote for taxing and regulating marijuana by voting ‘yes’ on Prop. 205.” 

Proposition 205, which is incredibly similar to the cannabis legalization initiatives on the ballot in four other states, would allow those 21 and older to possess up to an ounce of cannabis, grow up to six cannabis plants, and purchase cannabis and cannabis products from a licensed retail outlet.

“[W]hether someone uses marijuana or not we probably all prefer for law enforcement to spend their time preventing and investigating serious crimes rather than marijuana offenses”, the message starts. “Also regulating marijuana will take it out of the hands of criminals and instead generate jobs and tax revenue”.

The message ends with Sarandon saying “Please vote for taxing and regulating marijuana by voting yes on Prop 2015 on November 8th. Thank you.”

“Ms. Sarandon is one of the most widely recognized and well-respected actresses in the nation,” says J.P. Holyoak, Chair of the Campaign to Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol.

“She has been an outspoken advocate for social justice and sensible criminal justice reform, and we are proud to have her support. Like most Arizonans, she does not think adults should be slapped with felonies simply for consuming a substance that is less harmful than alcohol.”

Sarandon’s message can be found in a Youtube video below:

Sarandon joins a growing list of notable individuals who have endorsed Prop 205, including:

  • Congressman Ruben Gallego – U.S. House of Representatives
  • Congressman Raul Grijalva – U.S. House of Representatives
  • Sen. Martin Quezada – Arizona State Senate, Pendergast Elementary School District Governing Board
  • Rep. Richard C. Andrade – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Reginald Bolding Jr. – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Mark Cardenas – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Ken Clark – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Charlene Fernandez – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Matthew Kopec – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Jonathan R. Larkin – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Stefanie Mach – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Juan Mendez – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Celeste Plumlee – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Rep. Bruce Wheeler – Arizona House of Representatives
  • Paul Cunningham – Tucson City Council
  • Karin Uhlich – Tucson City Council
  • Regina Romero – Tucson City Council
  • Randy Keating – Tempe City Council
  • Lauren Kuby – Tempe City Council
  • Henry Wade – Maricopa City Council
  • Buck Crouch – President, Sunnyside Unified School District Governing Board
  • Devin Del Palacio – Vice President, Tolleson Union High School District Governing Board
  • Ian Danley – Phoenix Union High School District Governing Board
  • Daniel Hernandez – Sunnyside Unified School District Governing Board
  • Channel Powe – Balsz School District Governing Board
  • Stanford Prescott – Phoenix Union High School District Governing Board
  • Ben Smith – Mesa Public Schools Governing Board
  • Dr. Tom Patterson – Arizona Senate Majority Leader (1993-1995), Chair of the Goldwater Institute (2000-2015), Past President of the Arizona Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians
  • Woody Thomas – Past Mayor of Litchfield Park
  • Alexis Tameorn – Chair, Arizona Democratic Party
  • Michael Kielsky – Chair, Arizona Libertarian Party
  • Dan O’Neil – State Coordinator, Progressive Democrats of America
  • Sonia Martinez – Past President of the Native American Bar Association of Arizona
  • Michael Capasso – Former Special Agent and Financial Crimes Unit Chief for the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Finn Sealander – Former Special Agent and Marijuana Coordinator for the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Rev. Sherman Fort – Senior Pastor, Canaan Missionary Baptist Church (Mesa)
  • Rev. Terry Sims – Minister, Unitarian Universalist Church of Sunrise
  • Rev. Bart Smith – Pastor, St. Mark’s Presbyterian Church (Tucson)
  • Rev. Warren Stewart, Jr. – Lead Pastor, Church of the Remnant (Phoenix)
  • Rabbi Dr. Schmuly Yanklowitz – President and Dean, Valley Beit Midrash (Phoenix)
  • Rev. Jim Wiltbank – Pastor, St. Francis in the Foothills United Methodist Church (Tucson)
  • Rev. Alexander E. Sharp – Executive Director, Clergy for a New Drug Policy
  • Doctors, nurse practitioners, and nurses throughout Arizona 

In addition tot he above-mentioned individuals, the following organizations have endorsed Prop 205:

  • Arizona Democratic Party
  • La Paz County Republican Committee
  • Arizona Liberty Caucus
  • ACLU of Arizona
  • Las Adelitas Arizona
  • MomForce AZ
  • Arizona NORML
  • Clergy for a New Drug Policy
  • Drug Policy Alliance
  • Law Enforcement Against Prohibition
  • Marijuana Policy Project
  • National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws
  • Students for Sensible Drug Policy 


Recent & Related Posts


Recent & Related Posts